• Books I have read in 2010: 1

    Good to Great

My Utmost for His Highest – Jan 6

My Utmost for His Highest is a daily devotional that I have had since graduating high school but I have never read it from start to finish.  Considering my ambition to read a book a week in 2010 I figured this would be a great time to tackle this classic work by Oswald Chambers.  The devotion I read yesterday entitled, “Worship,” struck me enough that I thought about it for the rest of the day.

Genesis 12:8 “After that, Abram traveled south and set up camp in the hill country, with Bethel to the west and Ai to the east. There he built another altar and dedicated it to the Lord, and he worshiped the Lord.”

Chambers defines worship as, “giving God the best that He has given you.”  This idea makes sense to me and is something I have heard before.  But what he goes on to say next is what really got my attention.  In the above verse Abraham set up his home in a place that positioned him between both Bethel and Ai.  Chambers explains that Bethel symbolizes a connection with God while Ai symbolizes the world.  Abraham positioned himself between both of these influences in his life.  The idea is that if you position yourself completely connected with God you become out of touch with the world. 

While it may not sound bad to be isolated with God the fact is that you find yourself removed from having influence over anyone in the world.  Adversely, if you were completely connected with the world you would lose your rooting in the Lord and would become overcome by its influence.  The point of where Abraham placed himself for worship was that he could serve as a vessel or channel from God to the world.  The quote that sums this idea up the best reads, “Quiet days with God may be a snare.  We have to pitch our tents where we shall always have quiet times with God, however noisy our times with the world may be.”

I think the reason this devotional resonated so deeply with me is that I identified being placed between the two influences: God and the world.  It’s the core purpose of this blog and my pursuit in life to successfully merge ministry and business.  I found this an encouragement that I am on the right path, headed in the right direction, confident of the right motivations.  May this blog and my efforts to unite these two worlds be my act of worship.

A heart for Jesus and a mind for business,

Leave a Reply

